Review

Avanan Email Security

Snapshot

Avanan is the industry’s highest-rated email security solution for Office 365 and G Suite.

Who it's for

Any organization using Microsoft 365/Exchange or G-Suite/Gmail from 5 users to 500,000.

What is Avanan Email Security?

Avanan was the first email security solution to deploy as an app within Office 365 and G-Suite, protecting inbound, outbound and internal email. Its patented technology deploys after the native Microsoft and Google filters but before the inbox, blocking attacks before they reach the inbox.

Advanced machine learning integrates data from the entire Office 365 and G Suite environment to build customer-specific context engines to identify BEC/EAC attacks, incorporating a year’s worth of historical emails to create a reputation matrix on the first day.

Specialized AI engines are designed to catch what is missed by Microsoft’s Exchange Online Protection, Advanced Threat Protection and Google filters. Its unique position in the email stream makes it possible to identify Indicators of Attack that are taking targeting native vulnerabilities.

All of this protection deploys in a click.


What is Avanan Email Security?

Avanan was the first email security solution to deploy as an app within Office 365 and G-Suite, protecting inbound, outbound and internal email. Its patented technology deploys after the native Microsoft and Google filters but before the inbox, blocking attacks before they reach the inbox.

Advanced machine learning integrates data from the entire Office 365 and G Suite environment to build customer-specific context engines to identify BEC/EAC attacks, incorporating a year’s worth of historical emails to create a reputation matrix on the first day.

Specialized AI engines are designed to catch what is missed by Microsoft’s Exchange Online Protection, Advanced Threat Protection and Google filters. Its unique position in the email stream makes it possible to identify Indicators of Attack that are taking targeting native vulnerabilities.

All of this protection deploys in a click.


Profile Avanan Email Security

Category Email Security
Website avanan.com
Founded 2014
Headquartered New York, NY
Deployment Cloud Via API
Starting Price From $48 / year
Suitable For Any organization using cloud-hosted email (Office 365 or G Suite).

Avanan Email Security Features

  • Deploys in seconds. No change to MX records.
  • Anti-Phishing for inbound, outbound and internal email
  • Business Email Compromise/Email Account Compromise (BEC/EAC) Protection
  • Malware Sandboxing for inbound, outbound and internal email
  • Malware Sandboxing for file shares (OneDrive, SharePoint, Google Drive, Dropbox, and more)
  • Malware Sandboxing for Collaboration (Slack/Teams)
  • User Anomaly, User Compromise and Account Breach Protection across the suite
  • Post-Attack Forensics and Quarantine
  • Automated Retraction and Attack Mitigation
  • Data Leak Prevention for inbound, outbound and internal email including images
  • Data Leak Prevention for file sharing including images (OneDrive, SharePoint, Google Drive, Dropbox, and more)
  • Data Leak Prevention for collaboration including images (Slack/Teams)
  • Integrated with native clients: no software installation for phish report/quarantine requests.
  • Uses native infrastructure: no need to manage separate quarantine
  • SIEM Integration
  • [NEW] Incident Response as a Service: Email Helpdesk to respond to quarantine release requests and phishing reports.

User Reviews
IT Support Specialist

Existing Customer

Architecture, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

Dec 17, 2019

4.0

"Great insights and security"

What did you like best when using this solution?

A security blanket that lets you trace threats and pin point areas of security that needs to be beefed up.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Search queries could be easier to uses as well as treat tracing.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Avanan has been a great asset to our email security. It has eliminated a lot of DLP and exposed security issues.

Sr Virtualization Engineer

MSP

IT MSP, 250-500 employees

Used the product for: 2+ years

Dec 17, 2019

4.5

"Avanan Highly Recommended"

What did you like best when using this solution?

The modular "a la carte" design and ability to choose between multiple security vendors to suit the organization's needs while providing an effective security layer to one of the largest attack vectors today - email.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

The web gui is not very intuitive and can be a little tricky to navigate at times.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

We've had great success using Avanan as one of our security layers for email. The fact that Avanan sits behind Microsoft ATP as the last filter is great as it gives us capabilities that other security solutions can't offer. We've also found that ATP doesn't capture everything, and it's great to increase our security posture by layering different solutions to work in tadem, and Avanan is a great addition.

IT Technician

Existing Customer

Plastics, 25-100 employees

Used the product for: Less than 6 months

Dec 17, 2019

5.0

"Avanan: Best in Class Customer Service, Products, and Features"

What did you like best when using this solution?

The program installed pretty much instantly with zero interference to our Office 365 Environment. The program itself is very robust and has a lot of cool features and they continue to add more as each update comes out. It has a very clean and intuitive user interface and it very easy to pick up on everything after your initial training session. There is also a level of customization to the menus and to the interfaces. When creating custom queries there are hundreds of options and it will take time and practice to learn them all. However, you can submit any question to the customer support team, and they will answer anything you throw at them and help you understand. I also like that it is API based. It works in conjunction with the standard office 365 security features, instead of replacing them and rendering them useless, like the other popular solutions on the market. This makes for a faster and more efficient experience in my opinion and from what I have seen.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

I honestly can't think of any major dislikes or complaints. Any time I have had any issues or questions, I have been able to get it resolved or I have been able to get an answer form the support team. It simply does what I need it to do and that's enough for me.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Before Avanan, we had no additional security for our Office 365 environment. Avanan was an option that was easily implemented and immediately started producing results with phishing and malware hits. The amount of stuff that Avanan has caught for us makes me wonder how much stuff was getting through before with the standard O365 protection and ATP. The major benefit to us as a company was protecting us from phishing, malware, or ransomware threats. This allows us to keep our business continuity without interruption.

Cybersecurity Analyst

Existing Customer

Media, 500-1,000 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

Dec 17, 2019

5.0

"Avanan is a great Tool to protect you of phishing, easy to uses, and always improving features"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Friendly interfaces, and easy to uses.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Sometimes I want to access the solution from my mobile, and the interface do not fit in the screen.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

We saw several solutions in the market with high costs. We gave the opportunity to Avanan having a lower cost. It has filled our expectations.

Systems Administrator

Existing Customer

Market Research, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

Dec 17, 2019

5.0

"Easy to set up and seamless to use."

What did you like best when using this solution?

Easy to set up.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

It takes a bit of time to quarantine emails manually.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Avanan solved my companies email security needs, and it was very easy to integrate.

CIO

Existing Customer

Higher Ed, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

Dec 18, 2019

5.0

"Avanan"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Avanan has reduced the flow of spam phishing emails to our campus greatly. At the high point we were getting hundreds hourly. Now we see very few get through. I love the reporting they offer also. It helps us the review our security.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

We have no issues with this product.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

This product has more than met our need to stop the flow of phishing emails.

IT Manager

Existing Customer

Manufacturing, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: Less than 6 months

Jan 07, 2020

4.5

"It took Avanan to change the industry"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Simplicity. Why would you want to manually manage email security all day long or even create rules and policies or add complexity to your environment when a solution like Avanan Email Security does it for you.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Very minor issues if any.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Overall experience compared to what? The implementation took seconds versus weeks from my prior solution provider. The maintenance in non-existent versus other solutions which my team lived-inside. This is the closest I have seen to "set and forget". The support is very good and quick to respond.

Systems Engineering - Virtualization & Security

Existing Customer

Telecom, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

Nov 06, 2020

4.5

"Avanan: Takes some time to dial in, but once done, Whoooa Moma!"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Avanan took legitimately less than 10 minutes to set up for our trial, and hooking it into Office365 was easy and straight-forward. Unlike competitive products that we looked at that have intermediaries that can be snooped and then gamed by Threat Actors, there is no outward signal to the "Bad Guys" that you are deploying Avanan. During the trial, we'd regularly see 2-4 times the amount of phishing/junk / bad stuff Avanan catching as opposed to Microsoft ATP. We also use Avanan to protect our Sharepoint Online and OneDrive, which is all out of the box great. The interface is very straight-forward, and allows you access to powerful features out of the gate such as rules-based policies that can be changed per mailbox; I really like being able to create custom queries, save those queries and then use them to check on emails and how the policies are dealing with them. I'm also a large fan of how I can change an email and release or quarantine and email that is mistakenly released. Before I'd have to go and use PowerShell scripts I wrote to deal with all of these tasks and that takes forever. Login Events, analytics, and the ability to inspect email in the cloud without having to download are all killer-app functionality that is implemented flawlessly. When I've run into issues, Support has been very quick to respond and as such, even the Tech Support Manager has gotten on calls with us to support us, and make sure all is dialed in as well as possible and tuned for us.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Tuning will take a little bit of time, but this is the "Nature of the Beast" in Security.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

All in all, I can't rave more about Avanan. Better price-point then competitors and much much easier to work with. If you want to be able to implement in under 15 minutes, THIS is the platform for your business.

CIO

Existing Customer

Transportation, 500-1,000 employees

Used the product for: Less than 6 months

Nov 11, 2020

5.0

"Extremely easy to implement; quick way to add a layer of protection"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Being able to try before purchasing. The easy implementation.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Relies on Microsoft for reporting; which can lead to false positives.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Extremely impressed with the ease of implementation and being able to work in it every day.

Systems Engineer

Existing Customer

Non-Profit, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 2+ years

Mar 02, 2021

4.5

"Avanan - It just works"

What did you like best when using this solution?

It just works. After implementing Avanan, our end-users were happy with the decrease in spam, phishing, and malware attacks. The DLP protection is wonderful. It is extremely nice to put a rule in as testing before implementing. Less chance of error.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

The only negative is that we can't add custom logos. It's on the roadmap I've heard. Sometimes you will have an additional time waiting on emails.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Avanan has been a godsend for us. Our end-users are extremely happy. They do a better job than Microsoft.

CTO

MSP

Managed Service Provider, 10-25 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

Mar 03, 2021

4.5

"Blocks threats that other products miss"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Really quick and simple to set up protection for the most common SaaS products, such as Office 365.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

There are some improvements still being made to make this simpler to set up and manage across multiple clients. An example is that there's no way to apply an email template to all clients, so you have to copy & paste it to each client. This isn't a major issue though, as it's not something which you need to change very often.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Avanan has provided a better level of protection for our clients than we have previously and has detected many threats which were not being picked up by other products. We hope that Avanan continue to add functionality and integrate with additional SaaS products.

IT Security Admin

Existing Customer

Financial Services, 500-1,000 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

Mar 03, 2021

4.0

"Experience with the Avanan email security service."

What did you like best when using this solution?

The way it is able to detect and block malicious emails. Also personally I am fascinated when our current cloud solution is not able to detect malicious emails but when they pass through the Avanan filter they are detected immediately. And also the opposite when our cloud mail solution detects the mail as malicious and it turns out that it is a false positive that in effect Avanan does not detect it either. With this we see the great efficiency of Avanan.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

At the moment I have not found something that I do not like about the platform. The only drawback if you can say so. There was a time when I opened a support ticket for a specific purpose and the support gave me a different solution and not the one I was looking for.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Last year we acquired this solution to be able to combat phishing emails to our organization. So far this product has solved our main need, which has been Phishing.

Global IT Manager

Existing Customer

Manufacturing, 1,000-10,000 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

Mar 05, 2021

4.5

"An easy and simple email security solution that works."

What did you like best when using this solution?

Simplicity to implement and use. Accuracy of results. They are a solution that works like they describe. I have used other products such as Mimecast, and I am happier with Avanan. I believe the key difference is the way they integrate with Office 365. Avanan is more API based and compliments Office 365's security whereas Mimecast is more of a separate solution which you can direct all of your email to them. One of the things I really like about Avanan is that they work for both the internal and external emails. Therefore, email from someone internal goes though Avanan and than back to someone internal.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

I have no complaints. Avanan was brought in to solve a problem and they worked. They are fair on cost, their solution advertised is what you get. They are easy to implement and support is great at responding within a timely manner. Overall, I have recommended this to my former company as I am pleased with the results. Additionally, anyone reviewing Avanan they will setup a POC and you can start seeing results almost immediately.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

We were using Office 365's standard security and unfortunately we where getting multiple phishing and spam emails. After implementing Avanan that has almost eliminated that issue. Additionally, Avanan has also provided us an insight into our Shadow IT. It is much easier to address a problem when you can see what is being used.

Senior Advisor

Existing Customer

MSP, 25-100 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

Apr 12, 2021

4.5

"Avanan"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Easy to setup and manage users - no need to prepay or assign licenses

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Nothing

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Yes, works extremely well and removes about 2 mails per user per week - typically those that "Defender for Office365" dont take. We use it in addition to Defender, but it does also work good standalone

CTO

Existing Customer

Computer Software, 2-9 employees

Used the product for: Less than 6 months

May 17, 2021

4.5

"An extra layer of email protection for a resonable price"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Email scanner works great! Got our spam to nearly zero!

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Setup wasn't without hiccups, but the technical team was there for us.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

So far so good. Looking forward to using the product for years to come.

Information Security Analyst

Existing Customer

Industrial Construction, Maintenance, & Pipe Fabrication, 1,000-10,000 employees

Used the product for: Less than 6 months

May 17, 2021

4.0

"Simple and Effective Email Security Solution"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Avanan was quick and easy to get up and running. We mainly purchased their service to block all the phishing attacks that Microsoft EOP misses. They catch/block 95-99% of what Microsoft EOP misses!

What did you dislike about using this solution?

We have had an issue with the Microsoft Blocked Senders list working for end-users since implementing Avanan. We are working with Avanan/Microsoft support to see if we can get this resolved, but no resolution yet. Their Anomalies section leaves a bit to be desired. I wish it had more information on the alerts. I also hoped they would block more SPAM/Marketing emails.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

They catch/block 95-99% of what Microsoft EOP misses which was our biggest business need! Their Incident Response service is quick to respond to suspicious emails.

Systems Administrator

Existing Customer

IT, 1,000-10,000 employees

Used the product for: 2+ years

May 21, 2021

5.0

"Avanan Review"

What did you like best when using this solution?

I like how simple Avanan was to set up. We were up and running in under 10 minutes. From there, Avanan mostly runs itself. Requires very little monitoring. I like how quickly support helps, when needed.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Nothing really. The only issue we have, which isn't Avanan's fault, is Microsoft ATP malware notifications get caught as malware by Avanan. This only happens because we're using both services. But Avanan is doing it's job.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

When we migrated to Office 365, within a month we were constantly under attack. Phishing attacks leading to compromised accounts leading to more phishing campaigns using those compromised accounts. It was never ending. Microsoft's security was doing nothing to help. We reached out to Avanan. Set up a POC and instantly the attacks stopped. Well, Avanan was stopping them from ever reaching the user's mailboxes. Everyone was happy.

Director of Sales

Reseller

Consulting, 2-9 employees

Used the product for: Less than 6 months

May 21, 2021

5.0

"Best Email Security Tool"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Easy to Use

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Nothing

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

The tool is easy to use and really flexible

Systems Administrator

Existing Customer

Energy, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 2+ years

May 22, 2021

5.0

"Cost Effective Email security"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Cost and fast customer service response.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

At first the web GUI but they made a lot of improvements

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

I find the product very good in learning and detecting spam email and junk emails well for our organization.

VP, IT Risk

Existing Customer

Professional Services, 1,000-10,000 employees

Used the product for: 2+ years

May 23, 2021

5.0

"Best E-mail Security Product"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Advanced phishing and learning component is excellent. Ability to quickly react equally as impressive.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

N/A

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Overall Avanan is the best product on the market for email security in our opinion. Little to no down sides

Team leader

Existing Customer

MSP, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

May 23, 2021

4.5

"Powerful and easy to use"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Very fast setup and easy onboarding

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Could use more msp-focused features

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Yes absolutely. Best product on the market.

Senior IT Manager

Existing Customer

Food Industries, 500-1,000 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

May 24, 2021

5.0

"Avanan Review"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Our company was using another email gateway product, which was a gateway before o365 gateway. We replaced it with Avanan, this comes after o365 gateway, the type of results were noticeable and outstanding. Difference can be noticed. Security team and administration work has really reduced. They know the difference between spam and phishing

What did you dislike about using this solution?

I have no complaints. Avanan was brought in to solve a problem and they worked

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Our company was using another email gateway product, which was a gateway before o365 gateway. We replaced it with Avanan, this comes after o365 gateway, the type of results were noticeable and outstanding. Difference can be noticed. Security team and administration work has really reduced. They know the difference between spam and phishing

Systems Engineer

MSP

Information Technology, 25-100 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

May 24, 2021

4.5

"Best Protection for Entire M365 Suit"

What did you like best when using this solution?

1. No changes in MX records or SPF records hence protected from targeted attacks 2. Avanan sits behind the default M365 security hence truly adding an additional layer of protection. 3. Default email security from M365 is not bypassed 4. Protect entire M365 suits including email, teams, one drive & SharePoint which is unique 5. Scans internal emails as well. 6. Inline protection will scan & protect before the email is delivered in the user mailbox unlike other API vendors

What did you dislike about using this solution?

There is nothing which I dislike at this point. Excellent product with excellent team to support

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

My email security is not visible to the outside world since Avanan sits behind O365 layer. Hence it is protected from targeted attacks. Avanan protects other products such as teams, SharePoint, and one drive and also scans internal emails, It also reports anomalies. A very strong anti-phishing engine ie, smart-phishing, is used and patented inline protection is the standout differentiator. Avanan provides flexibility for MSP model businesses as well.

IT Administrator

Existing Customer

SaaS, 500-1,000 employees

Used the product for: Less than 6 months

May 24, 2021

4.5

"An honest Avanan review - uk based company"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Very easy to maintain, not very time consuming once the machine learning algorithm has worked its magic. Protects all users and allows for reviewing of emails even ones that may seem legitimate to users Does everything you would want an email security solution to do.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Unable to clear out restore requests once you have declined an email Not as many decline options as I would like - a nice feature would be allowing to provide a message to the user why the email was declined. As a UK company Avanan operates its support during USA hours.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

I found Avanan through research online and after a few calls going over functionality / features we went forward with them. So far they have protected our users from credential harvesting. phishing and some sophisticated email spoofing. Overall I would recommend Avanan as it is simple to use - easy to maintain without dedicating a lot of time.

IT Manager

Existing Customer

Staffing and Recruiting, 250-500 employees

Used the product for: 2+ years

May 24, 2021

5.0

"Avanan makes all other email security products seem like they're decades behind."

What did you like best when using this solution?

Initially, it was the setup. Drop it into Exchange online as a M365 application, and you're done. It literally took us less than 5mins to integrate into our environment. Now that we've been using it for almost 3yrs, the manageability is what's got me hooked.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Some of the most recent graphical updates to the main site have been a little buggy vs. what I was used to using over the past 2yrs. It seemed to be a major overhaul to their user interface and I'm already seeing some of these minor issues being resolved.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

We've had a problem with phishing attacks and although implementing MFA was on our radar, Avanan was the first security layer we laid down. Now, with the combination of MFA and Avanan's AI, we're putting our foot in the rear of malicious phishing emails before they hit our end user's inbox.

IT security administrator

Existing Customer

Bank, 500-1,000 employees

Used the product for: 2+ years

May 24, 2021

5.0

"The best system to protect your mail"

What did you like best when using this solution?

What I liked the most about this application was the price, the easy use, its easy administration and how easy it is to integrate with our system, additionally protecting against all kinds of malicious attacks.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

they should have created it since 2000

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

My experience with Avanan has been the ultimate, the best mail security system. if it protected us from all malicious emails that are on the network.

Systems Support Analyst

Existing Customer

Construction, 500-1,000 employees

Used the product for: 2+ years

May 24, 2021

5.0

"Avanan a good way to secure your users"

What did you like best when using this solution?

I liked Avanan's ease of integration, ease of use, and very responsive tech support

What did you dislike about using this solution?

I can't say that I dislike anything about Avanan

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Absolutely, Avanan has made our company a lot more secure via detecting phishing, DLP, malware, executive impersonation attempts and even logins to one of our accounts from outside the US.

VP IT infrastructure and Operations

Existing Customer

Banking, 250-500 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

May 24, 2021

5.0

"Avanan does what it says it will do"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Ease of use, Ease of installations and it stops malicious emails from getting to end users.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Nothing

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Yes we needed a better way to stop malicious emails from getting to end users and with limited false positives. Avanan has provided us that.

IT Director

Existing Customer

Communication, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

May 24, 2021

5.0

"Superb detection capability"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Avanan is extremely easy to setup, we were up and running with an hour.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

We had an issue with SSO setup but it was resolved quickly.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

I was surprised how quickly we were able to integrate Avanan into our environment, we started seeing results immediately. I would highly recommend Avanan over Microsoft ATP.

Exchange Admin

Existing Customer

Information Technology Services, 1,000-10,000 employees

Used the product for: 2+ years

May 24, 2021

5.0

"Exceptional product, exceptional service"

What did you like best when using this solution?

They are quick to act and very open to criticism

What did you dislike about using this solution?

It is hard to find something to dislike

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

They do an exceptional job, keep up the good work

Technical Support Engineer II

Existing Customer

Local Government, 1,000-10,000 employees

Used the product for: 2+ years

May 24, 2021

4.5

"Avanan is a terrific email security product and I highly recommend it."

What did you like best when using this solution?

It catches just about everything that Microsoft Exchange lets through - which is a lot.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

User interface is a bit cumbersome and I wish the product worked in real time, but that is a minor concern.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

The spam/phishing filtering alone has had a tremendous impact. Our users no longer spend a significant portion of their day sifting through email noise to get to essential communications.

Cybersecurity Engineer

Existing Customer

Media, 500-1,000 employees

Used the product for: 2+ years

May 25, 2021

4.5

"The easiest and most complete tool out there"

What did you like best when using this solution?

It's a straightforward tool that does exactly what's expected. It's super easy to use and implement and works great on detecting malicious emails, suspicious logons, and DLP.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

There's no mobile app.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

We found the tool to be easier to implement and use over Microsoft ATP. Also the fact that it's way less expensive.

Network/ Security Engineer

Existing Customer

Medical Supply Distribution, 500-1,000 employees

Used the product for: Less than 6 months

May 25, 2021

4.5

"Honest review of Avanan"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Several things I liked most about the product were it's ease of setup, configuration and deployment.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Support leaves something to be desired. I'd say this company is growing too fast support can't keep up at this point.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

The product itself is very easy to deploy. It integrates seamlessly into O365/ Exchange Online regardless of your licensing level. The fact that this is an API integration vs a traditional gateway platform makes it harder for attackers to attack as it's not seen. The product has several configurable components for protection each of which is customizable. Each has or send it's own series of email information messages, warning messages or alert messages. Each of those email messages can be customized as well. I'd say 95% of the product can be left alone leaving only 5% needing customization by the customer. Support is lacking, the company has been around for several years yet I get the impression there's a lot of "new" people there or they're honestly new to this arena of protection. Things that seem obvious are or were hard for Avanan to understand. Issues that don't get fixed can be addressed quickly by contacting your sales rep to move up the chain/ ladder to VP levels who quickly address and resolve issues as or if needed.

IT Administrator

Existing Customer

Manufacturing, 25-100 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

May 25, 2021

5.0

"Some Peace of Mind for Email Security"

What did you like best when using this solution?

The easy to use Dashboard Geo-Location warnings End-User Quarantine Experience

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Occasionally emails slip by and are blocked by Office 365 blacklisting/phishing/security. This causes our end-users to have two different "Release from Quarantine" emails/processes. Creating rules can be a bit confusing, as the more information added to a rule, the more specific it becomes - while this is beneficial for blocking specific things, it can allow emails to get through the rules if it becomes too specific.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Avanan provides complete peace of mind regarding our email security. The ease of use in creating rules for blocking phishing/spam, as well as how easy it was to train End Users to submit quarantine release requests has made our email management as easy as checking a dashboard and pressing a few buttons.

VP, Security

Existing Customer

Media and Entertainment, 250-500 employees

Used the product for: 2+ years

May 26, 2021

5.0

"Outstanding partner in securing e-mail and collaboration"

What did you like best when using this solution?

1. Ease of use to administer both the solution and Microsoft Office e-mail 2. The high accuracy in detecting compromised e-mails dent from external parties 3. The ability to drill down as to why an e-mail is flagged by Avanan 4. Working out billing details to support corporate requirements as well as Production (Shows) requirements

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Needs to support other platforms like Zoom

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

An amazing solution that has caught compromised e-mail accounts from our external partners. Moreover, the administration of Avanan and Avanan's ease of use to better manage Office 365 is unbelievable. It was so frustrating to work in Microsoft's platform and Microsoft support is pitiful.

Information security enginner

MSP

Finance, 1,000-10,000 employees

Used the product for: Less than 6 months

May 27, 2021

5.0

"Truly next gen email security service"

What did you like best when using this solution?

The solution provided us an easy to configure security for our companies' emails, with one of the easiest implantations there is, and best of a kind security ( stopping attacks wise ).

What did you dislike about using this solution?

We have not seen dislikes about this solution, but some may say that a minus is the fact that you don't need to change your MX records as in a lot of competitors

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Since the moment we started the POC, that took few months ago. this solution was on our top of the list, We tested a lot of solutions and most of them we shutdown due hard configurations, or not being true SaaS solutions. Avanan had everything we needed and beyond. from the protection side of things with LastLine defense, URL sandboxing, anti-spam service to the great IRSAAS team that is working with us.

Sr. Mgr. Information Security

Existing Customer

Construction, 1,000-10,000 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

May 28, 2021

5.0

"If you worry about phishing email, then Avanan is the solution you're looking for."

What did you like best when using this solution?

Ease of implementation. It just works - little turning and negligible maintenance.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

The user interface needs an upgrade (more flexible search/sorting).

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

It surpassed my expectations at catching phishing email. I expected it to need constant babysitting (which I did for the first few months), but now I just monitor it.

Implementation support Expert

Existing Customer

MSP, 10-25 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

Jun 07, 2021

4.5

"Security at it's finest"

What did you like best when using this solution?

I love the system for it's simple and easy of use, it is a great help in adding our additional security for our clients

What did you dislike about using this solution?

the permissions are per tenant permission and can add additional time rather than just being inherited from the root level so i have to recreate the permissions and make sure they are the same per tenant

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

i like the system is easy to get along with SSO SAML sign in it makes life easy - the ability to monitor and track emails is simple and easy - the system is easy to use and user friendly

Director

Existing Customer

Museum & Institutions, 25-100 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

Jul 07, 2021

4.5

"Most Optimal Email Cloud-based Security Service"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Avanan Email Security requires no manual tasks or coding to phish emails. It has helped us to detect fraud and malicious emails.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

It is hectic to integrate Avanan Email Security with external applications and company API.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Avanan Email Security has enhanced full security measures on company emails, by detecting and keeping malicious emails into quarantine.

Assistant Administrative

Existing Customer

Organization Civic and Social, 25-100 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

Jul 12, 2021

5.0

"Total protection in the cloud and in emails, Avanan gives the user peace of mind and balance"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Convenience in using the tool, knowing that it is protecting the emails and the storage in the cloud makes the work smoother. It operates silently, leaving the user free to carry out their activity. Knowing that emails and files are protected from any threat makes it easier to dedicate yourself fully to working without this worry

What did you dislike about using this solution?

It takes a while to receive the emails. But it's understandable by the process. Even because we are sure that they will arrive without any threat to the inbox

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Using Avanan gave us more peace of mind at work. Knowing that this protection is working, it is possible to work with more dedication in other areas. We have already been negatively surprised by false emails received, which cost us a considerable amount. We managed to get back what we paid but it was a lot of work. With the certainty that Avanan has avoided this kind of hassle, we save a lot with its implementation. really recommended

Assistant Manager (Technical)

Existing Customer

Telecommunication, 1,000-10,000 employees

Used the product for: Less than 6 months

Sep 09, 2021

4.5

"Works great for Cyber security of multiple platforms"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Avanan is a great solution for the organizational platforms to avoid any security and data leaks. The solution works well for multiple platforms like MS 365 and G Suite etc. We are using MS 365 in our organization as a platform for emails and other various data transactions. Since applying Avanan and customizing our MS 365 products integration with it , we have never faced any security issues and all phishing emails are unwanted links are captured well in advance by the Avanan advanced security features.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

It works great almost every time, but one thing is bit annoying that at times some legitimate links and emails are also got captured as phishing in Avanan and needed to be whitelisted manually.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

My overall experience with the product is great and it is a must have solution to avoid any data breaches in today's cyber centric world, where we have to deal with multiple data security threats everyday.

CIO

Existing Customer

Software, 25-100 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

Sep 19, 2021

5.0

"No fuss spam, phishing protection + malware sandboxing"

What did you like best when using this solution?

It's simple to set up with Google Workplace, they even joined a call with me to help set it up and make sure that email deliverability was unaffected. It protects us against phishing, spam and also has a malware sandboxing feature.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Not a major issue for us, but we could see some benefit from it having a stronger DLP integration with Google Drive.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

This solved our business needs as it was to implement, but most importantly it hasn't affected the deliverability of genuine emails. We tried other solutions and found that they often stopped legitimate emails as they were far to linear in their approach to detecting spam and phishing. The detection engines used in Avanan seem to work much better than other solutions we've used.

IT Manager

Ex-Customer

Controls Engineering, 25-100 employees

Used the product for: 2+ years

Sep 20, 2021

5.0

"Avanan Email Security Works. Set it and Forget it."

What did you like best when using this solution?

It stops all phishing emails. We were getting a ridiculous amount of phishing emails before we implemented Avanan. After we set it up, literally nothing. I was shocked at how effective it was.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Nothing. Avanan was great. Every now and then I would have to log in and review an email that a user requested. But that was nothing.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

It solved our phishing problem. It also provided more O365 security than we were expecting because it tracks login attempts from other countries as well.

Systems Engineer

Existing Customer

Manufacturing, 1,000-10,000 employees

Used the product for: 2+ years

Sep 30, 2021

5.0

"Spam and Phishing filtering has never been so great"

What did you like best when using this solution?

I like the ease of use, as well as the email searchability. Since the searching in Office 365 is not that easy to find, I always go to Avanan!

What did you dislike about using this solution?

I don't really have much to dislike about it. The only thing I would say is that sometimes it logs me in at a page where I need to log out and then I need to log in again.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

I really think it solved business needs that we have. We've had it for over 3 years and haven't needed to look at anything else. The price point is amazing and the ease of use really sell the product. We chose it mainly because of a couple of things. One was price. The price was amazing compared to the competition like Microsoft ATP or Proofpoint. At the time, they were the only company that had an inline filter with the mail coming in like a plugin and not needing some sort of server or box with mail needing to be routed in somewhere. I know that others now are, but Avanan is definitely better to work with and the price point is still a lot less.

Start a Free Trial Get a Demo

Profile Avanan Email Security

Category Email Security
Website avanan.com
Founded 2014
Headquartered New York, NY
Deployment Cloud Via API
Starting Price From $48 / year
Suitable For Any organization using cloud-hosted email (Office 365 or G Suite).