Review

Avanan Email Security

Snapshot

Avanan is the industry’s highest-rated email security solution for Office 365 and G Suite.

Who it's for

Any organization using Microsoft 365/Exchange or G-Suite/Gmail from 5 users to 500,000.

What is Avanan Email Security?

Avanan was the first email security solution to deploy as an app within Office 365 and G-Suite, protecting inbound, outbound and internal email. Its patented technology deploys after the native Microsoft and Google filters but before the inbox, blocking attacks before they reach the inbox.

Advanced machine learning integrates data from the entire Office 365 and G Suite environment to build customer-specific context engines to identify BEC/EAC attacks, incorporating a year’s worth of historical emails to create a reputation matrix on the first day.

Specialized AI engines are designed to catch what is missed by Microsoft’s Exchange Online Protection, Advanced Threat Protection and Google filters. Its unique position in the email stream makes it possible to identify Indicators of Attack that are taking targeting native vulnerabilities.

All of this protection deploys in a click.


What is Avanan Email Security?

Avanan was the first email security solution to deploy as an app within Office 365 and G-Suite, protecting inbound, outbound and internal email. Its patented technology deploys after the native Microsoft and Google filters but before the inbox, blocking attacks before they reach the inbox.

Advanced machine learning integrates data from the entire Office 365 and G Suite environment to build customer-specific context engines to identify BEC/EAC attacks, incorporating a year’s worth of historical emails to create a reputation matrix on the first day.

Specialized AI engines are designed to catch what is missed by Microsoft’s Exchange Online Protection, Advanced Threat Protection and Google filters. Its unique position in the email stream makes it possible to identify Indicators of Attack that are taking targeting native vulnerabilities.

All of this protection deploys in a click.


Profile Avanan Email Security

Category Email Security
Website avanan.com
Founded 2014
Headquartered New York, NY
Deployment Cloud Via API
Starting Price From $48 / year
Suitable For Any organization using cloud-hosted email (Office 365 or G Suite).

Avanan Email Security Features

  • Deploys in seconds. No change to MX records.
  • Anti-Phishing for inbound, outbound and internal email
  • Business Email Compromise/Email Account Compromise (BEC/EAC) Protection
  • Malware Sandboxing for inbound, outbound and internal email
  • Malware Sandboxing for file shares (OneDrive, SharePoint, Google Drive, Dropbox, and more)
  • Malware Sandboxing for Collaboration (Slack/Teams)
  • User Anomaly, User Compromise and Account Breach Protection across the suite
  • Post-Attack Forensics and Quarantine
  • Automated Retraction and Attack Mitigation
  • Data Leak Prevention for inbound, outbound and internal email including images
  • Data Leak Prevention for file sharing including images (OneDrive, SharePoint, Google Drive, Dropbox, and more)
  • Data Leak Prevention for collaboration including images (Slack/Teams)
  • Integrated with native clients: no software installation for phish report/quarantine requests.
  • Uses native infrastructure: no need to manage separate quarantine
  • SIEM Integration
  • [NEW] Incident Response as a Service: Email Helpdesk to respond to quarantine release requests and phishing reports.

User Reviews
IT Support Specialist

Existing Customer

Architecture, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

Dec 17, 2019

4.0

"Great insights and security"

What did you like best when using this solution?

A security blanket that lets you trace threats and pin point areas of security that needs to be beefed up.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Search queries could be easier to uses as well as treat tracing.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Avanan has been a great asset to our email security. It has eliminated a lot of DLP and exposed security issues.

Sr Virtualization Engineer

MSP

IT MSP, 250-500 employees

Used the product for: 2+ years

Dec 17, 2019

4.5

"Avanan Highly Recommended"

What did you like best when using this solution?

The modular "a la carte" design and ability to choose between multiple security vendors to suit the organization's needs while providing an effective security layer to one of the largest attack vectors today - email.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

The web gui is not very intuitive and can be a little tricky to navigate at times.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

We've had great success using Avanan as one of our security layers for email. The fact that Avanan sits behind Microsoft ATP as the last filter is great as it gives us capabilities that other security solutions can't offer. We've also found that ATP doesn't capture everything, and it's great to increase our security posture by layering different solutions to work in tadem, and Avanan is a great addition.

IT Technician

Existing Customer

Plastics, 25-100 employees

Used the product for: Less than 6 months

Dec 17, 2019

5.0

"Avanan: Best in Class Customer Service, Products, and Features"

What did you like best when using this solution?

The program installed pretty much instantly with zero interference to our Office 365 Environment. The program itself is very robust and has a lot of cool features and they continue to add more as each update comes out. It has a very clean and intuitive user interface and it very easy to pick up on everything after your initial training session. There is also a level of customization to the menus and to the interfaces. When creating custom queries there are hundreds of options and it will take time and practice to learn them all. However, you can submit any question to the customer support team, and they will answer anything you throw at them and help you understand. I also like that it is API based. It works in conjunction with the standard office 365 security features, instead of replacing them and rendering them useless, like the other popular solutions on the market. This makes for a faster and more efficient experience in my opinion and from what I have seen.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

I honestly can't think of any major dislikes or complaints. Any time I have had any issues or questions, I have been able to get it resolved or I have been able to get an answer form the support team. It simply does what I need it to do and that's enough for me.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Before Avanan, we had no additional security for our Office 365 environment. Avanan was an option that was easily implemented and immediately started producing results with phishing and malware hits. The amount of stuff that Avanan has caught for us makes me wonder how much stuff was getting through before with the standard O365 protection and ATP. The major benefit to us as a company was protecting us from phishing, malware, or ransomware threats. This allows us to keep our business continuity without interruption.

Cybersecurity Analyst

Existing Customer

Media, 500-1,000 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

Dec 17, 2019

5.0

"Avanan is a great Tool to protect you of phishing, easy to uses, and always improving features"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Friendly interfaces, and easy to uses.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Sometimes I want to access the solution from my mobile, and the interface do not fit in the screen.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

We saw several solutions in the market with high costs. We gave the opportunity to Avanan having a lower cost. It has filled our expectations.

Systems Administrator

Existing Customer

Market Research, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

Dec 17, 2019

5.0

"Easy to set up and seamless to use."

What did you like best when using this solution?

Easy to set up.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

It takes a bit of time to quarantine emails manually.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Avanan solved my companies email security needs, and it was very easy to integrate.

CIO

Existing Customer

Higher Ed, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

Dec 18, 2019

5.0

"Avanan"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Avanan has reduced the flow of spam phishing emails to our campus greatly. At the high point we were getting hundreds hourly. Now we see very few get through. I love the reporting they offer also. It helps us the review our security.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

We have no issues with this product.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

This product has more than met our need to stop the flow of phishing emails.

IT Manager

Existing Customer

Manufacturing, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: Less than 6 months

Jan 07, 2020

4.5

"It took Avanan to change the industry"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Simplicity. Why would you want to manually manage email security all day long or even create rules and policies or add complexity to your environment when a solution like Avanan Email Security does it for you.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Very minor issues if any.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Overall experience compared to what? The implementation took seconds versus weeks from my prior solution provider. The maintenance in non-existent versus other solutions which my team lived-inside. This is the closest I have seen to "set and forget". The support is very good and quick to respond.

Systems Engineering - Virtualization & Security

Existing Customer

Telecom, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 1-2 years

Nov 06, 2020

4.5

"Avanan: Takes some time to dial in, but once done, Whoooa Moma!"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Avanan took legitimately less than 10 minutes to set up for our trial, and hooking it into Office365 was easy and straight-forward. Unlike competitive products that we looked at that have intermediaries that can be snooped and then gamed by Threat Actors, there is no outward signal to the "Bad Guys" that you are deploying Avanan. During the trial, we'd regularly see 2-4 times the amount of phishing/junk / bad stuff Avanan catching as opposed to Microsoft ATP. We also use Avanan to protect our Sharepoint Online and OneDrive, which is all out of the box great. The interface is very straight-forward, and allows you access to powerful features out of the gate such as rules-based policies that can be changed per mailbox; I really like being able to create custom queries, save those queries and then use them to check on emails and how the policies are dealing with them. I'm also a large fan of how I can change an email and release or quarantine and email that is mistakenly released. Before I'd have to go and use PowerShell scripts I wrote to deal with all of these tasks and that takes forever. Login Events, analytics, and the ability to inspect email in the cloud without having to download are all killer-app functionality that is implemented flawlessly. When I've run into issues, Support has been very quick to respond and as such, even the Tech Support Manager has gotten on calls with us to support us, and make sure all is dialed in as well as possible and tuned for us.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Tuning will take a little bit of time, but this is the "Nature of the Beast" in Security.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

All in all, I can't rave more about Avanan. Better price-point then competitors and much much easier to work with. If you want to be able to implement in under 15 minutes, THIS is the platform for your business.

CIO

Existing Customer

Transportation, 500-1,000 employees

Used the product for: Less than 6 months

Nov 11, 2020

5.0

"Extremely easy to implement; quick way to add a layer of protection"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Being able to try before purchasing. The easy implementation.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Relies on Microsoft for reporting; which can lead to false positives.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Extremely impressed with the ease of implementation and being able to work in it every day.

Systems Engineer

Existing Customer

Non-Profit, 100-250 employees

Used the product for: 2+ years

Mar 02, 2021

4.5

"Avanan - It just works"

What did you like best when using this solution?

It just works. After implementing Avanan, our end-users were happy with the decrease in spam, phishing, and malware attacks. The DLP protection is wonderful. It is extremely nice to put a rule in as testing before implementing. Less chance of error.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

The only negative is that we can't add custom logos. It's on the roadmap I've heard. Sometimes you will have an additional time waiting on emails.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Avanan has been a godsend for us. Our end-users are extremely happy. They do a better job than Microsoft.

CTO

MSP

Managed Service Provider, 10-25 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

Mar 03, 2021

4.5

"Blocks threats that other products miss"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Really quick and simple to set up protection for the most common SaaS products, such as Office 365.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

There are some improvements still being made to make this simpler to set up and manage across multiple clients. An example is that there's no way to apply an email template to all clients, so you have to copy & paste it to each client. This isn't a major issue though, as it's not something which you need to change very often.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Avanan has provided a better level of protection for our clients than we have previously and has detected many threats which were not being picked up by other products. We hope that Avanan continue to add functionality and integrate with additional SaaS products.

IT Security Admin

Existing Customer

Financial Services, 500-1,000 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

Mar 03, 2021

4.0

"Experience with the Avanan email security service."

What did you like best when using this solution?

The way it is able to detect and block malicious emails. Also personally I am fascinated when our current cloud solution is not able to detect malicious emails but when they pass through the Avanan filter they are detected immediately. And also the opposite when our cloud mail solution detects the mail as malicious and it turns out that it is a false positive that in effect Avanan does not detect it either. With this we see the great efficiency of Avanan.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

At the moment I have not found something that I do not like about the platform. The only drawback if you can say so. There was a time when I opened a support ticket for a specific purpose and the support gave me a different solution and not the one I was looking for.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Last year we acquired this solution to be able to combat phishing emails to our organization. So far this product has solved our main need, which has been Phishing.

Global IT Manager

Existing Customer

Manufacturing, 1,000-10,000 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

Mar 05, 2021

4.5

"An easy and simple email security solution that works."

What did you like best when using this solution?

Simplicity to implement and use. Accuracy of results. They are a solution that works like they describe. I have used other products such as Mimecast, and I am happier with Avanan. I believe the key difference is the way they integrate with Office 365. Avanan is more API based and compliments Office 365's security whereas Mimecast is more of a separate solution which you can direct all of your email to them. One of the things I really like about Avanan is that they work for both the internal and external emails. Therefore, email from someone internal goes though Avanan and than back to someone internal.

What did you dislike about using this solution?

I have no complaints. Avanan was brought in to solve a problem and they worked. They are fair on cost, their solution advertised is what you get. They are easy to implement and support is great at responding within a timely manner. Overall, I have recommended this to my former company as I am pleased with the results. Additionally, anyone reviewing Avanan they will setup a POC and you can start seeing results almost immediately.

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

We were using Office 365's standard security and unfortunately we where getting multiple phishing and spam emails. After implementing Avanan that has almost eliminated that issue. Additionally, Avanan has also provided us an insight into our Shadow IT. It is much easier to address a problem when you can see what is being used.

Senior Advisor

Existing Customer

MSP, 25-100 employees

Used the product for: 6-12 months

Apr 12, 2021

4.5

"Avanan"

What did you like best when using this solution?

Easy to setup and manage users - no need to prepay or assign licenses

What did you dislike about using this solution?

Nothing

Describe your overall experience with Avanan Email Security. Did you find this product solved your business needs?

Yes, works extremely well and removes about 2 mails per user per week - typically those that "Defender for Office365" dont take. We use it in addition to Defender, but it does also work good standalone

Start a Free Trial Get a Demo

Profile Avanan Email Security

Category Email Security
Website avanan.com
Founded 2014
Headquartered New York, NY
Deployment Cloud Via API
Starting Price From $48 / year
Suitable For Any organization using cloud-hosted email (Office 365 or G Suite).